July 29: Secret Thoughts

IMG_2904 - Version 2
These are the thoughts I wont allow myself to think,
The ones I must repress, never spoken aloud, never a valid claim.
I mustn’t look at you with hope or dreams,
Because you are not mine to dream of,
You never were.

I remind myself as I walk past your window not to look up,
Your window is not mine to look into
Not anymore.
I mustn’t daydream of you holding my hand like you hold    hers,
I mustn’t hope for romantic gestures or starry-eyed looks,
Even if she doesn’t appreciate them,
I mustn’t even let myself think that thought.

I can never speak my mind, tell my secret.
A secret that never fully formed, or had time to,
A wish that will forever be mine to bear, unfulfilled and  unknown.

These thoughts must never be thought,
This daydream must never have your face,
I must forever be a friend, nothing more,
Though I can’t stop thinking how perfect a boy you would befor me.

Leave a comment